Accompaniment

I’m apt to sing in the shower. I’m apt to turn up the volume in the car and sing, unabashed. I will even roll the window down and caper on. I’m going to assume that this is not a phenomenon unique to myself. Aside from the common sing-along (in the shower, or otherwise) there are certain songs that I feel more inclined to whistle along to instead. They have accompaniment that begs me to pipe along to with my personal wind instrument (er, whistling I mean). The songs that include actual whistling never make my list since the whistling has already been done for me.  And now for the list! With accompanying YouTube videos!

  1. “Seven Nation Army” The White Stripes – this song makes it onto my blog often. There are several elements which make it a favorite of mine. This time it’s because it’s easy to whistle to, and not just in one particular part. I whistle along to the entire song! All four minutes of it.
  2. “Fargo, North Dakota” Carter Burwell – this is the main theme to the Coen Brothers’ Fargo. It’s pretty easy to whistle along to an instrumental song. Because the tune is so prominent, and there are no lyrics to distract the listener, whistling becomes a natural fit. It’s kind of like a personal instrument anyway, whistling is.
  3. “La Vida es un Carnaval” Celia Cruz – the flavor of Celia’s music is rich. You can feel your body start to move involuntarily when this song plays.  When a song has as many horns as this one does, getting carried away in a whistle isn’t too tough. Every time the horns blare, I jump in whistling!
  4. “Where is my Mind” The Pixies – this crazy number is fun to listen to. It elicits some whistling near the end. I’m sure you’ll hear why when you listen to it. It’s a song you can really get lost in. There’s a rendition of this song on the soundtrack to the motion picture ScukerPunch. I recommend giving that one a chance too.
  5.  Wake up” Arcade Fire – this is a beautiful song. I heard it for the first time with millions of other people when the film Where the Wild Things Are was released. An acoustic version of this song was featured in the trailer. I’ve been whistling along with ever since!
  6. “Black Sheep” Metric – this song became a hit in my book as soon as I saw the film Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. And as soon as I started listening to it, I was whistling to it. I normally pipe in near the end, about 2:45 mins into the song.

There you have it. Sometimes it’s better to whistle along in life than sing. Let me know what songs you can’t help but whistle along to!

Leave a Reply

