12 Days of Christmas…Again

In true holiday fashion, I am posting my obligatory Christmas content. Not that I mind. I enjoy this season. My favorite part of all this celebration is the music. The food is a close second. But the music takes Christmas (or any occasion) to another level. I’m not aware of too many people who would argue with me about the power of music to heighten feelings. There is one Christmas song that I have trouble getting my head around though: The 12 Days of Christmas. The repetition of the traditional carol turns me off, so I decided to dedicate this post to the song. That means repeating a repetitive song! I made an attempt to gather a collection of songs that deviate from the standard line and add a unique sound to mute the redundancy. I hope I have succeeded. Please, sample these renditions:

1) A hilarious take with Bob River’s “12 Pains of Christmas”

2)Taking Back Sunday give their two-cents on this proverbial gift list:

3) I rather enjoy this simple version from Relient K. The deviations are minimal, but help make the song less tired.

4) Now, for a more classical approach, from the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. They take the song on a journey through various musical period.

5) I’ll wrap this list up with a creative version of “The 12 Days of Christmas” from a Capella group Straight No Chaser.

Thanks for stopping by and regardless of your beliefs and style of celebration, I hope your holiday season is full of joy!

Leave a Reply

