Sweet Sounds of Adoration

There are some songs that have the right melody and lyrics to induce a longing for love. Even in a defensive posture, keeping all potential for love at bay, these songs can make those defenses as resilient as a sandcastle.

1) “Crush’d” by Say Anything

This song has a few lines that paint a smile across my face and make my heart light. But one line I find particularly endearing: “We should make a verbal agreement to only kiss each other.”

2) “The Way That I Am” by Ingrid Michaelson

Clowns. I know. This is a rare moment I’m not creeped out by them. This line really hits home for me and I hope to find a  love that will live up to it (because I know it’s inevitable): “I’ll buy you Rogaine when you start losing all your hair, sew on patches to all you tear.”

3) “Mario Kart Song” by Sam Hart

It’s a cute idea, a song based on a video game, and Mario no less! The song is tender and this line from the chorus melts my heart: “I’ll pause this game so our love will never end.”

4) “Safe and Sound” by Capital Cities

This song doesn’t necessarily sound romantic, but its optimistic beat, coupled with the simple lyrics, make it fit into this collection. I’m sold on the line: “You could be my luck, even in a hurricane of frowns I know that we’ll be safe and sound.” Plus, the video is pretty amusing.

5) “Kiss the Girl” as sung by Brent Morgan

We all know this song. I chose this version because the guitar in the background is pretty mellifluous. I would think many people feel stirrings of love and romance at the sound of this song. This line packs a pointed message too: “It don’t take a word, not a single word. Go on and kiss the girl.”

Do you have a list of songs that makes you want to be in love?
More importantly, I hope that you have someone who brings love into your life. If not, then I hope you have hope for one!

Leave a Reply

