Hello, My Name Is…

I don’t know about everyone else out there, but names are tough. They don’t stick unless I repeat them a few times, and have a visual representation to connect it to. So, in honor of all the times I have forgotten a name and for Open Link Night

Your Name Again, Please?
We met.
You said your name
the first time.
I’ve forgotten what to
call you
already.
I need to hold
your name
in my mouth a
while longer to
remember how
it feels
slipping between my
lips.
She leaned in
and pressed
each
syllable
up to my ear,
carefully,
and held them there
until
the sound
became
as familiar
as a cup of sugar
from
the next door neighbor.

SAP

14 Comments

  1. She leaned in
    and pressed
    each
    syllable
    up to my ear,
    carefully,
    and held them there
    until
    the sound
    became
    as familiar
    as a cup of sugar
    from
    the next door neighbor…

    …yeah I’m bad with names too…dig these lines.

  2. as familiar as a cup of sugar from the next door neighbor…smiles…i like that…ha…there is an implied intimacy in using someones name…yet they can def be hard to remember

    1. That line actually took a little bit of time to come up with. I wanted just the right phrase to communicate that familiarity. Thanks for stopping by Brain!

  3. hmmm nice..i love the intimacy in this as a name is something intimate… i always have lots of customers from foreign countries that i meet at work and i’ll never forget the day when i met eight people from malaysia and they told me their names…they were each having 25 syllables and oh..i had no chance to remember them…smiles

    1. That would be tough! I usually ask reps for their names a few times myself.
      I really believe we do turn names into a part of intimacy. I remember with my ex, that was something that came up, nicknames.

  4. I have the same problem, and I wish each person would do what the she in this poem does. Then I would indeed remember. The halves of the poem really work well and the balance works itself out perfectly.

Leave a Reply

