Coming and/or Going

Bouquet toss
Photo courtesy of John Mayer via Flickr Creative Commons.

There are places, moments, and words that serve more than one purpose, sometimes in contradiction to one another. I think of churches. They are places that where the whole spectrum of the human experience happens, from beginnings to endings. It reminds of something my great uncle Allen said at a funeral. He said that families seem to gather mostly at births and deaths, when the ship is coming in or leaving. I liked that phrase. Though I would amend it to say that families gather mostly at weddings and funerals. Still, at the beginning and at the end. I saw a church one day and Uncle Allen’s words reared up from my memory. As I watched people gather for funeral services this poem took shape in my mind…

The Ends and the Beginnings

Her bouquet flew into the
air
a perfect arch
from her heart
His casket drops into a
voided plot
straight into the dark
Heaven or hell
what’s waiting when
either one lands
is what there is to
fear
No stopping hope
from tearing
tears
from every
spectator’s eyes

Leave a Reply

