Cherry Coke Wasted

I don’t drink. I mean, I don’t consume alcohol, so when I am out with my friends at the bar, my drink of choice is a cherry coke. It looks like a cocktail, kinda, so I blend which is nice. You can imagine after all that sugar, though. Yeah, if you think a five year-old on pixie sticks is bad…

From left to right: Juan (that's John in English), Myself, Scott (or Escott in Spanish), and Jorge (George in English).
From left to right: Juan (that’s John in English), Myself, Scott (or Escott in Spanish), and Jorge (George in English).

Needless to say, on this particular night I had about four or five cherry cokes, which resulted in some pretty boisterous, and possibly obnoxious, behavior towards the end of the night. And with that experience, a poem was born:

2a.m. Yet?

What do with it
     the bartender mused
I poured the lid right off him
laughter came bubbling
fizzing
out
It leaked all over
the bar
unable to grasp a whisper
every conversation in
the place was invaded
best to just
smile
nod
until it all slinks
onto the floor
and the leaks
out the door
a quiet mess

Leave a Reply

